What to do when you don’t know what to do and how to get strength when you are emotionally down

1 As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God.
2 My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?
3 My tears have been my meat day and night, while they continually say unto me, Where is thy God?
4 When I remember these things, I pour out my soul in me: for I had gone with the multitude, I went with them to the house of God, with the voice of joy and praise, with a multitude that kept holyday.
5 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted in me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance (Psalms 42:1-5 KJV)

There are times in life when we are sincerely drained and tired. There are times we get to in life and everything seems somehow. It would just all of a sudden look like nothing is working, God has gone on holidays to some far-far away kingdom, and all hell seems loosed against you!

What do you do at such times? What do you do when you don’t what to do?

At such times, we suddenly feel like we should not go to church again! Have you ever worked in organization, where with all your sincerity of heart at work, with all your diligence, you were not appreciated? Have you ever worked in environments where your boss dislikes you because of intimidation and insecurity, so he fights you and the systems within the organization also fights you at the same time? What do you do at such times?

What do you do at the times when all attempted relationships have failed, and you looked at yourself embarrassingly and with disgust wondering why you can’t seem to keep a relationship for more than two months? What do you do at such times?

What do you do when you have been crushed in a relationship? The person you have so much trusted in, spent money on and waiting and dreaming for a wedding suddenly comes up with the lousiest excuse in this world? What do you do at such times when you are so grossly surrounded with debilitating feelings?

The writer of the above Psalms who is obviously a child of God was at that stage.

In verse 3, he said

My tears have been my meat day and night, while they continually say unto me, Where is thy God?

It wasn’t a good time, because he has been weeping sadly for days and nights. Everything looked so gloomy. The future looked so uncertain, thoughts of poverty and lack barraged his mind. He simply wept profusely!

Everything looked so bad that others around him noticed and mocked at his God. Where is thy God? It wasn’t a question you will appreciate from anybody! Usually, people will not verbalize the question, nay, they won’t say it with their mouth, but their looks, body language and actions all around you are ringing out loud in your ears, ‘where is thy God?’

It is a question you don’t need to reply with your words either. It is a question that should lead you to verse 4

When I remember these things, I pour out my soul in me: for I had gone with the multitude, I went with them to the house of God, with the voice of joy and praise, with a multitude that kept holyday.

The situation I am going through is not designed to crush me after all. I am not meant to be a victim in the whole story. So I refuse to give up and I simply go before God to pour out my heart unto Him and to learn to still praise Him because, somehow, in all I am going through, I know that God will not fail me!

So, you still move back to verse 1, at what you used to do before the tests and the trials showed up.

As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God.

You must not give up on God. You must continually return to the water brooks every morning, like that deer that is so thirsty and is literarily panting after God.

You know what the devil wants when you are going through tests and trials? He wants you to give up on God. He wants you to stop giving. He wants you to stop reading your Bible. He wants you to stop praying. He wants you to stop going to church.

At those times, when you are emotionally drained and down, the last thing you want to do is pick up your Bible, yet that is the wisest thing to do!

Why? That is where the way out is. The way out is not some stupid things like drinking, smoking or hanging out in clubs! The way out is not sleeping around and offering your body like a philanthropist because you are down and you needed some affirmation for your crushed esteem. The ‘wrongest’ place to seek for some esteem ‘make-up’ is some compromise!

What do you do when you don’t know what to do? Get back to God.

Now all the stuffs you are going through are in your soul. Your spirit is there but cannot instruct or speak to your soul to sit up because you’ve not been feeding your spirit to be strong enough to do that. But when you return to God, your spirit is strengthened, rejuvenated and comes alive and then takes its position.

So in verse 5, your spirit, when you stay with God at such times, literarily instructs your soul.

Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted in me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.

This has to happen! You look at your soul, and say, ‘common stop that, it’s not time to back out on God!

You speak to yourself,

“Why are you cast down? Why are you disquieted? You better hope in God! Because praise is still waiting for me!

Glory to God! If you get back to God, my dear, you will never lose! It will all end in praise!

Before you start looking for some boy or girl because of the way you are feeling, before going to some night party to feel good, before taking some drink to pep up your feeling, speak to your soul!

Look at the Message translation

Why are you down in the dumps, dear soul? Why are you crying the blues? Fix my eyes on God – soon I’ll be praising again. He puts a smile on my face. He’s my God. When my soul is in the dumps, I rehearse everything I know of you.

Soul, common, you’ve got to stop crying the blues! You’ve got to fix your eyes on God. There is praise for you, soul; it’s not time to give up out back out! He’s going to put some smiles on my face soonest!

I pray for you this morning, everything in your life that has made meat out of tears, I curse them in the name of Yahushua! I pray for you with the strength of my call, and the anointing of God upon my life, everything that God has not planted in your life is uprooted now in Yahushua’ name. I pray for restoration of all you have lost as a result of carelessness and disobedience, I surround you with mercies of God, you will laugh again. You will praise God soonest because there is a praise waiting for God in your situation!

CONFESSION FOR THE DAY
I will not give up on God. Praise is waiting for me.

PRAYER FOR THE DAY
I cut off every tree that God has not planted in my life.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY
I will say unto God my rock, Why hast thou forgotten me? why go I mourning because of the oppression of the enemy? (Psalms 42:9 KJV)

ACTION PLAN FOR THE DAY
Decide to praise God always in that situation

Leave a Reply

