A Soul-shaping God

God said, “When they build this kind of altar, don’t hammer the stones to make them fit. Use them just as they are. This will remind them that I am the one shaping them for heaven. They can’t do it themselves” Exodus 20:25 (The Easy English Clear Word).

This verse reminds me that God always does things with a purpose. Our mistake is that when His purpose isn’t immediately clear to us, we’re quick to jump to the conclusion that there is no purpose; but verses like this assure us that when God asks us to do something, He always has a reason for His request; and I simply I love His reason for this request: “This will remind them that I am the one shaping them for heaven. They can’t do it themselves.”

What a beautiful truth! From the very beginning, God wanted it to be crystal clear that He is the One Who transforms our hearts, He’s the One Who shapes our souls.

The altar God asked the Israelites to build when they crossed the Jordan River was to be made of uncut stones as a reminder that it isn’t up to us to make everything fit, to run our own lives, to shape our own future, to mold our own character; no, those difficult tasks are left to God—the only One Who can truly change us for eternity.

I am so thankful that God doesn’t leave this all-important work up to me, that He is the One Who undertakes this crucial soul-shaping work—one that has eternal implications. I am so glad that He is in charge of eternity. I am so grateful that He has good plans for me, and I am excited for Him to continue His good work in my life, to continue shaping my soul for eternity.

How about you?

Leave a Reply

